Board of Trustees

Lynne Wintermute (2019), Chair

Lynne spent her career in retail and manufacturing with Pendleton Woolen Mills, followed by owning several specialty stores in Lake Oswego. She did her undergraduate work at Linfield College and graduate studies at Pacific Northwest College of Art and is now a Teaching Artist living full time in Neskowin. Along with her husband Barry Dragoon and their black and white Boxer “Max”, Lynne has embraced the beauty and peace of living in Neskowin in their “forever home” in Hawk Creek Hills.

Patti Soens (2015), Vice-Chair

Patti moved to Oregon from Wisconsin in 2010 and now divides her time between Portland and Neskowin.  She graduated from the Univ. of Wisconsin-Whitewater and received her Master’s Degree in Communicative Disorders from Marquette University.  Throughout her 37 year career, she was a speech therapist for her local school district working with students from all age levels.  For 17 years of her career, she was the chair of the speech therapy program and a Special Education Program Support Teacher for several schools.  She is looking forward to becoming more involved in the Neskowin community.

Donna Jose (2017), Secretary

Donna is a musician whose passion for songwriting is inspired by living near the ocean in the Neskowin community. She continues to produce recordings in her studio and loves performing at local events with family and friends. She is also a nurse practitioner currently practicing as a primary care provider in south Tillamook County. An avid runner, you will likely see her pounding the pavement, rain or shine.  Donna, her husband, Guy, and their beloved yellow labradors moved to Neskowin in 2006 and treasure their involvement in and commitment to the life of their community.​

Cameron Nagel (2013)

Cameron is a retired publisher, building contractor, and furniture maker. Cameron ‘grew up’ in Neskowin via annual family vacations throughout his life, and then became a full-time Neskowin resident in 2000. Since 2002 he has been the Editor for the Neskowin Community Association’s newsletter. Since 2013 he has been on the NVS Board of Trustees and just completed a 7-year term as Board Chair. Currently Cameron is pursuing his passion for fine-art photography, and when not remodeling their Neskowin cottage he shares with his wife Nancy, you can find him strolling the village streets and beaches, camera in hand.

Richard Hook (2015)

Richard Hook is a retired geologist living in Neskowin.  He grew up in Salem and holds a BS in Geology from U of O and an MS from OSU.  His career took him and his family abroad for many years, but the family always spent their summers in Neskowin, participating in summer programs at NVS.  He is an avid cyclist, outdoorsman, cellist, and enjoys doing various projects around the house and garden.

J. Gary McClain (2019)

Gary is a semi-retired attorney who graduated from Willamette University College of Law. Prior to that, he attended Eastern Oregon University and the University of Oregon. For many years while Gary practiced law in Clackamas County, he also owned a vacation home in Neskowin, where he became a full-time resident in 2019. Gary stays busy with occasional legal work, reading, visiting nearby family members, and taking care of his miniature dachshund 'Dolly' ... who he says "pretty much runs things”.

Amanda Graves (2020)

Amanda moved to South Tillamook County in 2009 in order for her son to attend Neskowin Valley School. Amanda has a Master's Degree in Landscape Architecture and a keen interest in education. As a former parent and teacher at the school, she is very committed to the future success and growth of our beloved school. Amanda currently works at Kiwanda Coastal Properties as a real estate broker. She enjoys traveling, hiking, winter, and water sports. As an avid outdoor enthusiast, the Oregon Coast has her heart and will remain her forever home. 

Honorary Board (est. 2016)

Barbara Haga                        Joe Goodrich                 

David Ousele                        Katharine Harding

Dick Ellegood                        Leslie Gordon

Goody Harding                     Sally Rissel 

Guy Sievert                            Sharlene Peters

Jackie Farah



Neskowin Valley School honors the time and service of all who have been on our Board throughout our 40+ years. Without the support and investment of dedicated Board members, we would not be where we are today. In 2016, the Board of Trustees established an Honorary Board category to honor past board members who served a minimum of 2 terms and who provided NVS with distinguished service through keen interest and active engagement. During their tenure, these Honorary Board members also made valued contributions in support of NVS. Thank you to our Honorary Board for your continued support!